Afridi not to appeal ban
by Cricket Archive Staff Reporter

Player:Shahid Afridi, BC Broad, RA Woolmer
Event:Pakistan in South Africa 2006/07

DateLine: 12th February 2007


Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi has decided not to appeal against a four-match one-day international ban handed down Saturday for pushing his bat at a spectator. Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer said the player had decided not to exercise his option of lodging a written appeal within 24 hours. An unsuccessful appeal would have delayed Afridi's ban and he might have missed Pakistan's first four World Cup matches in the West Indies next month. Instead, he will miss the last two matches of the series against South Africa, as well as Pakistan's first two World Cup matches, against the West Indies and Ireland. Match referee Chris Broad banned Afridi after a hearing in Cape Town into the incident in which Afridi pushed his bat at a spectator after being dismissed during the first one-day international against South Africa at Centurion last Sunday. Broad found Afridi guilty of a Level Three offence for "conduct unbecoming.which could bring (players or officials) or the game of cricket into disrepute." The charge was laid by International Cricket Council chief executive Malcolm Speed. The incident happened while Afridi was walking up stairs towards the dressing room. Broad found it was an extenuating circumstance that the spectator had shouted at Afridi. "I also spoke to the spectator in question ahead of the hearing to get his version of events. However, I found it impossible to escape the conclusion that Mr Afridi's actions were a clear threat to that spectator, and had that person not taken evasive action then the bat would almost certainly have hit him." Broad criticised the proximity of players to spectators at the staircase. "I do not believe spectators should be that close to the players or that they should feel they can shout whatever they like and think that is acceptable," he said. Broad said he had conveyed his view Cricket South Africa.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive