Former players want Alam sacked
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:Mohsin Khan, Zaheer Abbas, Intikhab Alam
Event:Pakistan in Sri Lanka 2009

DateLine: 4th August 2009


Former Pakistan Test players have demanded sacking of coach Intikhab Alam and the team manager Yawar Saeed following Pakistan's dismal show in Sri Lanka.


Television cameras showed Saeed sleeping during the second ODI at Dambulla on Saturday and this only added fuel to the debate that the Pakistan team management needs a younger and more active coach and manager.


Muhammad Ali Shah, a minister in the Sindh government and Head of the Karachi City Cricket Association who also sits on the PCB Governing Council, said PCB Chairman Ejaz Butt should immediately recall Alam and Saeed from Sri Lanka.


"The coach and manager must be changed during the series because they have failed miserably to motivate or support the team," Shah said.


Former Test opening batsman Mohsin Khan said that he has been repeating always that Alam was not the right man to be coaching the team at his age.


"He is out of sync with modern day cricket requirements and it is clear he has no clue on how to get the team out of their mental block which has led to this losing streak," he said.


Former captain Zaheer Abbas also spoke about the management failure to contribute anything positive to the Pakistan team.


"Then they have Aaqib Javed as a bowling coach when I have been saying that the team needs a batting coach foremost.


"The way the batsmen are failing in Sri Lanka only a proper batting coach can help them out. Intikhab is not capable of doing this," Zaheer said.


Zaheer also made it clear that he would blame the entire team for the latest one-day series fiasco.


"The players are clearly struggling and are out of sorts against Sri Lanka," he said.


Intikhab was appointed coach last November when the Board terminated the contract of Australian, Geoff Lawson while Saeed has been team manager on several occasions.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive